Art Institute Of Houston Reviews

Last Updated on September 8, 2022 by Ngefechukwu Maduka

Are you an international student? and been puzzled by the contradictory information you encountered on the internet. You need not look further, this article allows you to learn more about art institute of Austin reviews.

It is possible for you to find more information about art institute of Houston closing on Collegelearners. Read on to discover the latest information on is the art institute of Houston accredited.

About Is The Art Institute Of Houston A Good School

The experience at the Art Institute of Houston was a very interesting experience. In my experience, it felt like more of a high school setting than a college. When I first started here, I was unsure about my future and wanted to drop out. The advisors I had were very supportive and encouraged me to make the best decision for myself at the time. There were only a few good teachers and the rest just wanted a check seemed like. Overall, I ended up graduating with a 3.6 GPA and meet some really good people. If there is anything that needs improvement at The Art Institute of Houston, I would suggest this school to invest in teachers that love to teach young adults as well as getting a paycheck.
Alum5 months agoOverall Experience
Report
Rating 4 out of 5
They have teachers that have experience and tell you what to expect in the working field. Teachers are also understanding and will go easy on you if you are having difficulty with life or their material.
FreshmanJune 15 2019Overall Experience
Report
Rating 5 out of 5
Good program, lots of work. Instructors are very available to help out any student that wants it. Instructors are also active industry professionals who can give you a true look at what the field is like.
SophomoreMay 7 2019Overall Experience
Report
Start Your Review of The Art Institute of Houston

The Art Institute of Houston

Rating 4 out of 5
I liked how willing to help every professor was. It was one building so you just went to your classes in one building.
SophomoreApr 5 2019Overall Experience
Report
Rating 3 out of 5
Really great program starting out but after the first year and a half I noticed a downfall in the program.
SeniorJan 16 2019Overall Experience
Report
Rating 5 out of 5
I am a student at The Art Institute of Houston and it is a great school to go too. Everyone feels welcomed and all of the students and professors are kind. The curriculum is very great. The professors make everything easy to understand and want to see you succeed in life. I am very excited to be able to attend this school to obtain my degree.
JuniorDec 28 2018Overall Experience
Report
Rating 5 out of 5
This school is career based meaning I am able to study in art without the fear of never being able to do anything with my degree. I know that I will be able to make a career out of my major which gives me the confidence to continue art.
FreshmanOct 5 2018Overall Experience
Report
Rating 5 out of 5
I currently go here and all professors I’ve had are professional and always help students whenever possible
SophomoreJan 31 2018Overall Experience
Report
Rating 5 out of 5
The Art Institute of Houston has been an excellent experience for me. Their immediate hands on instruction has helped me to understand my future career profession. I only wish that they would offer more financial opportunities for struggling families. But I truly love my college!
SeniorJan 3 2018Overall Experience
Report
Rating 5 out of 5
I enjoyed how great the Admin assisted me when registering. Lauren whom was assisting me was there from start to finish. They made sure everything was in order by the time my classes started. I was comfortable once I was able to meet fellow students in my class. The staff is real easy going and very helpful.
FreshmanAug 17 2017Overall Experience
Report
Rating 4 out of 5
My academic adviser is incredibly friendly. Unfortunately, he is the only one that I have talked to that has not been rude, they need nicer people like him.
FreshmanJuly 25 2017Overall Experience
Report
Rating 3 out of 5
Very diverse school but some course can be replaced with courses that can be applied to real world situations. The amount we pay is a little extreme as well! Staff for Fashion Design are great and extremely helpful.
SeniorJuly 6 2017Overall Experience
Report
Rating 2 out of 5
I love the look of the school but not the lack of variety of class and helpful workers, everything is way too expensive and the security is not good at all , from multiple cars getting broken in to random people off of the street going into class rooms the Ai is not the best choice school to go to
SophomoreFeb 16 2017Overall Experience
Report
Rating 4 out of 5
don’t really know about post-grad services.
College SophomoreAug 19 2016Value
Report
Rating 4 out of 5
Professors are very laid back and very understanding. The classes are small and the students get to know each other.
College SophomoreAug 19 2016Overall Experience
Report
Rating 4 out of 5
Being an animation student you to understand craftsmanship,all the principles of design, and the fundamentals of drawing, and animation history. Unique part of this field is that you get draw and interact with your peers. You must have great time management to to finish to homework. Don’t expect Disney to hand you a job easily you to have to work a little harder.
College SophomoreAug 19 2016Academics
Report
Rating 4 out of 5
The Art institute of Houston is a very inspiring place when come to art. The teachers know what their talking about and are very relate able.
College SophomoreAug 19 2016Overall Experience
Report
Start Your Review of The Art Institute of Houston

Rating 3 out of 5
I dislike having to work with financial aid. I feel that they are constantly trying to figure out new ways of getting their money right away. They are not prompt whenever working with students and requests. They do not respond to emails and the wait to talk to them is usually in between 20 minutes to three hours on some occasions. They are a nightmare to work with.
College SeniorJuly 25 2016Academics
Report
Rating 5 out of 5
I loved taking online classes! They only lasted five and a half weeks, so there was a little bit more of a work load. Rather than meeting and turning in work once a week, you had two assignments due a week. The advantage of taking classes online was that you were finished with it sooner than if you take it in class. I learned a lot in the online classes and hope that I am able to take more in the following quarters. I also felt that my grades overall were better while doing a mixture of online and on campus classes.
College SeniorJuly 25 2016Academics
Report
Rating 4 out of 5
There are career services that help you to find jobs, there are employers who come in at the end that you are able to talk to about getting jobs after graduation.

Programs | The Art Institute of Houston

At The Art Institutes, financial aid is available to those who qualify. We’re here to help you understand everything you need to know to help fund your creative education. We’re always working to make your education more affordable. The Art Institutes system of schools is offering full and partial scholarships to new and current students. In fact, The Art Grant gives you the chance to earn a tuition grant of up to $17,340 for bachelor’s degree programs (an average of up to 18%) and up to $5,845, (up to 13%), for associate’s degree programs.

SCHOLARSHIPS FINANCIAL AID

Latest Happenings
Ai Live logo
AiLIVE: your resource for industry insights, career path info
AiLive is an online mix of communication, entertainment, and instruction that builds upon your education with a library of fun, informational, industry-relevant shows about creative careers.

READ MORE

Nick Valencia
Film & Production
Ai LIVE: CNN’s Nick Valencia Talks Front-Line News Reporting
CNN correspondent Nick Valencia has covered everything from presidential elections to the coronavirus pandemic. Learn about what motivates him and his thoughts on today’s news environment.

READ MORE

Walter Mercado
Film & Production
Ai LIVE: Producer & Directors Discuss Mercado Documentary “Mucho Mucho Amor”
In this edition of AiLive, the producer & directors of the Netflix documentary “Mucho Mucho Amor: The Legend of Walter Mercado” discuss their film & provide insight & advice to current film students.

READ MORE

VIEW ALL ENTRIES
Hands-on Workshops For Everyone
The Art Institute of Houston Workshop
Try something new or develop your skills further. You can explore drawing, website development, photography and much, much more. Noncredit courses are immersive and focused.

BEGIN CREATING

College Bound
Female student drawing on drafting table
Campus Program
Saturday Classes Offered Year Round
Saturday morning for High School juniors and seniors has never been more engaging or inspiring. Take a course, develop a portfolio which can be used to request proficiency credit* toward a degree at an Art Institutes school, which can save time and money. Invite friends and family to a closing Showcase.

LEARN MOREStudents working on laptops
College Bound Express
Summer 2021
Join this immersive experience and you can complete a College Bound course in under two weeks. Make this your summer to prove you’ve got what it takes and join your fellow creatives! Open Lab times available all week followed by a Showcase.

LEARN MORE

  • Students who successfully complete a course will receive a certificate of completion. College Bound courses are non-credit bearing and do not transfer into our academic program offerings or the offerings of any other institution. However as part of the course you will have the opportunity to develop a portfolio that you are able to request proficiency credit. Proficiency credit is awarded based on the proficiency credit policy defined in an institution’s academic catalog. The cost of the College Bound courses varies between $325 and $350. This cost is waived for any student that has an application and completed essay on file with the school. Check with the school you are interested in attending for exceptions and details, as not all programs are offered at all locations. Individual location participation is subject to change. Online College Bound courses are not available to residents of the District of Columbia, Massachusetts, New Mexico, and Oregon.

Most families will aim to save less than 100% of their total projected college costs. Your child may receive grants or scholarships towards college, and you may use loans or current income to pay a portion of the costs. The chart below illustrates the monthly contributions necessary to meet different targets, and how much they increase each year you wait to start saving.

Your child’s age: 4 years old
Household Income: $40,000
% of college you’d like to pay: 50%
The Art Institute of HoustonNational Average
REQUIRED MONTHLY SAVINGS
Net Cost: $134,634
Age 4Wait 3 yearsWait 6 yearsWait 9 yearsWait 12 years
Pay for 10%
$46$64$94$155$341
Pay for 30%
$138$191$282$465$1,022
Pay for 50%
$230$319$469$775$1,703
Pay for 70%
$322$446$657$1,085$2,384
Pay for 100%
$461$637$939$1,550$3,406
$67,317$71,792
$67,317
Total Debt after Graduation
This is the total amount your child will have to pay back after graduation. It includes the amount borrowed (principal), plus any loan fees and interest accrued while they are in school or during the grace period before repayment begins.

$747$797
$747 / month
Monthly Loan payment
This is the amount your child will be expected to pay each month toward their loan balance. This tool assumes a 10-year repayment term and a 6% interest rate. Generally, the monthly loan payment will be about 1% of the total debt at graduation.

$89,683$95,644
$89,683
Total student loan payments during life of loan
This is the total amount your child will have to repay, including principal and interest. This tool assumes a 10-year repayment term and a 6% interest rate.

IN PLAIN ENGLISH
When helping your child evaluate student loan options, be sure to consider both the monthly loan payment and the total payments. The monthly payments can be reduced by extending the loan term, but your child will end up paying more over time in interest.

is the art institute of houston closing

A smarter way to reduce your child’s future monthly payments is to start saving money well before college. Every dollar you save for your child will reduce the amount they will have to borrow and pay back with interest.

How your college savings can reduce your child’s future student loan debt
Household Income: $40,000
% of college you’d like to pay: 50%
Student Debt vsAnnual Income after Graduation
$67,317$33,500
The more you save for your child before college, the less they will have to pay back after college. A good rule of thumb is to keep total debt less than your child’s expected annual income. That way they should be able to afford to repay their loans in 10 years or less.

Percent (%) of Your Child’s Monthly Income that Goes into Paying Back Student Loan Debt
Monthly Salary: $2,792
27%
You’ll also want to compare your child’s monthly payments to their monthly income. Anything less than 10% is considered affordable, 15% is a stretch, and anything over 20% is not recommended.

IN PLAIN ENGLISH
This analysis is based on projections of college savings and college costs. It demonstrates the impact of savings on debt after graduation. The more you save, the less you’ll have to borrow. This tool can help you determine how much you need to save to ensure that your child graduates with an affordable amount of debt at each college or university.

This tool assumes that a college’s net price will continue to increase at the same rate as recent increases. It also assumes that the earnings in a college savings plan will reflect historical averages. Since past performance is not necessarily predictive of future performance, actual cost and return figures may vary. This tool is intended to educate consumers about the relationship between college savings and student loan debt.

The Art Institute of Houston was approved by the Student and Exchange Visitor Program (SEVP) in the Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) on 5/21/2007. SEVP and SEVIS are administrated by Immigration and Customs Enforcement, the principal investigative arm of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

The Art Institute of Houston’s campus is at Houston, TX. We suggest you review and contact other SEVIS certified schools nearby before apply for the admissions of The Art Institute of Houston.

The Art Institute of Houston is just one of the more than 10,000 SEVIS certified schools authorized to issue I-20 forms for academic students(F1 Visa), vocational students(M1 visa) or exchange visitors(J1 Visa) in United States.

We won’t be able to keep all our data current and accurate. Before choosing The Art Institute of Houston to start your study or research, you should ask whether The Art Institute of Houston is still currently in SEVP program and authorized to issue I-20 Forms in SEVIS system. You should also confirm with them the cost and calendar year of The Art Institute of Houston.

If you already have applied for admission of or studied at The Art Institute of Houston, we strongly encourage you to write a review of The Art Institute of Houston. This will be very helpful to other people.

Jay Fabares moved to San Diego when she was 18 to pursue a relationship. Fresh to a new city, she had her whole career ahead of her. Eventually, she took general education courses at a community college because even though she didn’t yet know what she wanted to do with her life, she already knew that she loved to draw.

“My whole life, I’ve been an artist. After my jobs, I would come home and draw. I was very much into art and cartoons and had an almost photographic memory of motion,” Fabares said. A co-worker’s husband suggested attending The Art Institute of San Diego after seeing her drawings, so she decided to check out the open house.

“I was the first person in my family to go to college and they hadn’t helped me prepare for education, so I was basically on my own,” Fabares said.

The school was expensive, but the school said they could get her financial aid. They also told her that credits she’d already completed wouldn’t transfer. As a first-generation college student, though, “I thought that this must just be normal.”

Advertisement

But during her third quarter into the Media Arts and Animation program, she realized that her decision to enroll was a mistake.

“I was never even able to take a Flash [animation] course, which in the industry was unheard of,” she said. “I felt trapped –- after spending this much time and money toward the program already.”

The debt striker movement spreads

The Art Institute of San Diego is owned by the Education Management Corporation (EDMC), and is a for-profit career school that receives grants and subsidized student loans from the federal government. But earlier this year, the corporation announced it would gradually shut down 15 of 52 of its Art Institutes campuses. So far, San Diego hasn’t made that list, but the sheer number of closures and the stories from other campuses is enough to make AI students concerned. Enrollment in the Art Institutes has dropped in recent years, from 66,440 students in 2013 to 61,070 in 2014. It’s a troubling sign for the for-profit college industry.

After all, students at Corinthian Colleges, another for-profit career-oriented college that went bankrupt, have called for debt relief from the U.S. Department of Education. And it looks like the department is starting to hear their case. For the first time, students mired in burdensome debt from poorly run for-profit colleges saw a glimmer of hope.*

They prey on people’s insecurities about their self worth.

Seeing how effective those students were at exposing the abuses of Corinthian colleges, AI students began voicing their concerns about their own debt burdens and the quality of education they received. Former AI students signed a MoveOn.org petition to clear the debt of parents and students for those who attended the school between 2003 and 2011. The former students who created the petition thought 2011 was an appropriate cut-off because that was the year that The U.S. Department of Justice filed a lawsuit against EDMC, making the accusation that it fraudulently took $11 billion in government aid and targeted low-income students to collect their aid money.*

Advertisement

Ben Miller, senior director for postsecondary education at the Center for American Progress, says that as a society, we’ve sold the importance of going to college so hard that it has become easy to manipulate students into thinking every college is “created equal” and convince them that every college worth the price. EDMC colleges tend to have higher tuition than public colleges with the same programs but higher levels of student loan default, suggesting they’re having a hard time getting the kinds of jobs they were promised.

In October of last year, EDMC announced that it received notice from the Securities and Exchange Commission that it wasn’t in compliance with SEC rules after it delayed filing its annual financial report. Soon after, it delisted its common stock from the Nasdaq, which means it is no longer under the SEC’s filing obligations. The company said the delay was due in part to the SEC’s division of corporation finance’s comments on its revenue recognition and bad debt reserve recorded on student withdrawals from school.

“This is a company that intentionally went private last year so the public wouldn’t know what was happening with it, and that says a fair amount in itself,” Miller said.

“Beyond for-profits, we still send kids to colleges that aren’t very good, but for-profit colleges in particular, because of their customer service orientation, are more likely to take advantage of [the idea that every college is created equal], and show up and be friendly and make it really easy to apply,” he said. “Part of it is that there’s a very sophisticated marketing machine, so they pitch that you can do it and you can’t afford not to do it. They prey on people’s insecurities about their self worth.”

Quality of instruction and admissions standards

Several AI students told ThinkProgress that they realized in the first year after beginning school that the Art Institutes didn’t provide the quality of education they were paying for, by teaching out-of-date methods and not hiring enough teachers for courses assigned for broad and popular majors, as well as providing very weak career services.

The Art Institute of Houston - Texas - #ALoanNoMore

Rebekah Hancock-Murphy, 23, wanted to become an illustrator but opportunities were mostly far away from where she lived. Hancock-Murphy wanted to take care of her grandmother, however, so she didn’t feel comfortable moving far away. Then she saw The Art Institute of Houston (AIH), which was closer but allowed her to have “the college experience.”

As I was going through classes, my teachers would tell me the degree I was getting was worth nothing.

“Since my grandma was there, I had to make sure she was okay. They told me I’d get plenty of financial aid so I ended up applying and it just wasn’t what I thought. The building was ancient and they were really behind on the technology. I was gobsmacked by what they were teaching me,” she said. But the price was high — she had to take on a huge amount of debt beyond the grants and federal loans she qualified for. Hancock-Murphy’s adviser recommended she take private loans on top of the federal loans she had already taken out, but she declined to do so. Now, AI Houston is one of the 15 campuses that will be shut down.

“As I was going through classes, my teachers would tell me the degree I was getting was worth nothing,” Hancock-Murphy said. “They would tell me that it was going to get me nowhere, so I better have a great portfolio.”

Rebekah Hancock-Murphy attended The Art Institute of San Diego and The Art Institute of Houston.
REBEKAH HANCOCK-MURPHY ATTENDED THE ART INSTITUTE OF SAN DIEGO AND THE ART INSTITUTE OF HOUSTON.
Other students who attended AI San Diego, which isn’t on the closure list, never required them to show their portfolios to admissions staff, and that there appeared to be minimal to no standards for deciding acceptance. For those students who did struggle, they say they didn’t receive very much help from faculty and staff. One student said he received very little support for his learning disability from the school after his acceptance.

Hancock-Murphy was enrolled at AI Houston during the period covered by the petition which is why she thinks her teachers felt comfortable telling her that her degree wouldn’t help her secure a job.

She said the school never offered discounts on software students might need or even suggested getting certain software or laptops that would meet the demands of using certain 3-D rendering programs, the kinds of things often offered to students at other schools. Students say they instead had to rely on teachers to go the extra mile because the schools wouldn’t provide direction.

“We were learning 3-D rendering programs that are rarely used by people in the industry and we didn’t learn for example, that ZBrush is a big thing in the industry or Mudbox and things like that,” Hancock-Murphy said. “One time we got free software was the Maya program, and that was because one of our teachers, who was still actually an artist, knew about it and he was the one who had told us how to use it.”

Since then, she decided to attend Grossmont College to study history and global studies. It was there that she realized how inexpensive college could be, receiving fee waivers and financial aid for textbooks.

“I still do art as a hobby but going to AI, I realized I wasn’t ready to go to art school and was accepted on false grounds, so even though I was pretty good when I left high school and had all these recommendations from my art teachers, I wasn’t prepared and on top of that, I had no idea how to approach subjects,” she said on why she switched her career focus.

All credits are not equal

For too many students, they wind up feeling trapped once they’ve been in a program only a few semesters, in part because it’s very difficult to transfer credits to another school.

Andrew Shufeldt, 29, who now works in an administrative role at Paradise Valley Community College and attends school there, said The Art Institute of San Diego’s game design program was at least five years behind the curve and told students that cell phone games would be low tech when all trends in the industry showed that games would become more high-end and compact. He said that although some instructors were effective, the resources they had to work with were inadequate, which is why many of the teachers he’s known have moved on.

Transfer credits are pretty much useless to any other school besides maybe some other tiny for-profit school.

“There were at least two good instructors, but the resources they were given and curriculum they had to follow meant their hands were tied, and many have moved on,” he said.

Shufeldt said it’s very difficult to transfer credits from AI schools to other institutions. After enrolling in and working at Paradise Valley Community College, he learned more about the difficulty in transferring credits due to AI’s status as a three-year college. Instead of a college algebra course being three credits, it would be 2.3 credits, making students retake general education courses.

“It was difficult dealing with what they were worth to other schools. Transfer credits are pretty much useless to any other school besides maybe some other tiny for-profit school. The credits going to Arizona State University or any other college come across as electives,” Shufeldt said. “They are ranked as quarter rather than semester, so it doesn’t technically count as a full course. Gen-eds from that school can only be used to fill prerequisites and even that is being extremely generous.”

In an enrollment agreement covered with fine print, The Art Institute of Pittsburgh, for example, notes that its credits aren’t easily transferable: “The credits earned are not intended as a stepping stone for another institution … If you are considering transferring to either another Art Institutes school or an unaffiliated school, it is your responsibility to determine whether that school will accept your The Art Institute of Pittsburgh credits.”

After Hancock-Murphy’s grandmother passed away, she moved to San Diego to live with her father and attend the Art Institute there, but she found that she found that she had to apply all over again.

“What people don’t tell you is that when you transfer between Art Institutes, is that the system isn’t interconnected, so when you transfer, you have to fill out a completely different application. They can’t send anything between schools other than transcripts,” Hancock-Murphy said.

Miller said students often assume that because a school is accredited, it should be straightforward to transfer those credits to another institution. But he warned students shouldn’t rely on accreditation agencies, and to be careful of non-U.S. News or Washington Monthly school rankings sites that feature for-profit schools prominently, as many are created by marketers charged with the task of finding students, or as they call them, “leads.”

“The other major problem you have is that most consumers assume that if department of education is willing to give you a grant to go here, that should mean there’s some degree of due diligence that went into choosing colleges that can participate. The problem is that’s not really true,” Miller said. The accreditation agencies that are one line of defense are basically co-opted by the schools and do an abysmal job of consumer protection.”

the art institute of houston ranking

Given the aftermath of Corinthian Colleges’ closures, AI students may be able to step into the path already forged by those students. The U.S. Trustees Office gave former Corinthian students the OK to form a committee to represent students during the bankruptcy process. Public Counsel Law Center, Robins Kaplan LLP, and Strumwasser & Woocher LLP said they are representing the interests of around 500,000 Corinthian students affected by its collapse.

ThinkProgress requested a comment from the U.S. Department of Education on what former AI students could do to seek financial relief, as former Corinthian students have done.

“As EDMC phases out several campuses, the Department will closely monitor the situation to ensure that their students’ interests and futures are protected,” said Denise Horn, assistant press secretary for communications and outreach at U.S. The Department of Education.

Unfortunately, it’s these students that had it bad, but there is hope as the department deals with the fallout, Miller argues.

“The students at Corinthian on the day it got shut down and a little bit before that too, they will have a path to get rid of loans without getting into murkier borrower defense to repayment. This is a transitionary period. The sector is getting much closer to rightsizing, and now the worst actor is gone, and the second and third worst actor may not be here this time next year,” Miller said. “But the problem is that you have people who have been ripped off for years, and so what do you do about it? I think part of what they need to do is get money from these schools while they still have it.”

AI is also on the U.S. Department of Education’s heightened cash monitoring list, which provides additional oversight over federal student aid. Schools are put on the list due to issues such as late or missing financial statements or audits, outstanding liabilities, accreditation issues and concern about the school’s financial responsibility, to name a few.

AI schools included on the list, as of March 2015, include The Art Institute of Phoenix, The Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale, The Art Institute of Atlanta, The Art Institutes International Minnesota, The Art Institute of Houston and The Art Institute of Seattle. Most of them are listed under either “CIO problems” or “financial responsibility” on the department’s list.

Life after graduation

Shufeldt said the college had decent connections in the industry, but all of them were through professors, not necessarily though the school administration’s efforts to reach out to employers.

“They were relying on educators’ past connections with different companies and had nothing really going on outside of that,” he said. “They had superfluous jobs that were somehow tied to hiring quotas. Like jobs at Kinkos counted toward the animators’ hiring quota. Game artists working as a game tester counted, which, you know a person who hasn’t even graduated high school could get that job.”

That may sound typical to those who attend four-year colleges, but schools like the Art Institute are classified as career colleges, meaning that they exist to provide students with an entry into specialty fields that require special training. These job placement rates are often part of the marketing students hear before they sign up.

They had superfluous jobs that were somehow tied to hiring quotas. Like jobs at Kinkos counted toward the animators’ hiring quota.

According to a 2012 Health Education, Labor and Pensions committee report on for-profit colleges, EDMC students struggle to find jobs despite the high cost of attending these schools. Even though The Art Institute of Minnesota reported a job placement rate of 89 percent for the 2012–13 academic year, the school counted any job, regardless of whether it related to their degree.

They’re also taking out a lot of private loans. According to U.S. Department of Education data provided in 2011, The Art Institute of Hollywood’s median private loans for cinematography and film/video production came to $25,393, and at The Art Institute of San Diego, the median amount apparel and accessories marketing operations students took out for private loans was $27,780. At The Art Institute of Colorado, median private loans for computer graphics was $21,675.

Although Jay Fabares became frustrated with her college of choice at AI San Diego, it is also where she met her husband, Sanders Fabares. They met while attending the school from 2003 to 2006. Both Jay and Sanders had a difficult time finding work after college, taking food service jobs just to pay the bill, as well as their student loans.

Sanders and Jay Fabares both attended The University of San Diego together.
SANDERS AND JAY FABARES BOTH ATTENDED THE UNIVERSITY OF SAN DIEGO TOGETHER.
Fabares said that career services didn’t bother to reach out to her post-graduation. “I graduated, it was fleeting — no contact or reaching out from the school. I don’t recall them ever writing or calling me on their own. I remember emailing them about possible leads just to be sent a list of jobs that didn’t even match my skill set,” she said.

When Fabares began applying for jobs, she thought that her portfolio would stand out, given that she considered her work more developed and skilled than many of her peers, but once she realized the kind of preparation students from other art colleges received, she felt ashamed.

“But once you get out there and realize what students have done at other schools, you realize, ‘Oh, my portfolio sucks.’ Not even that, but it just was subpar, and all these people from CalArts had connections and relationships with potential employers. They had studios come to their school for portfolio views, and they knew what to make for them. Their curriculum was more targeted.”

Fabares worked at a Starbucks for a few years while she tried to find work in her industry. She did secure an internship at Disney, but she didn’t get offered a position. Meanwhile, her husband worked at a hotel after college and eventually secured different positions within gaming companies.

She eventually found a full-time job at a gaming company with his help. She now works as a senior flash artist at Playtika Santa Monica, doing animation. Sanders Fabares now who works as a website moderator.

I have never once benefited once from what I learned at [Art Institute San Diego].

The couple, now in their thirties, helped each other secure jobs once they graduated while they did their best to keep up with student loan payments. His debt is currently $25,000 and hers is $71,000. Most of the time, the couple moved wherever Jay found work, since her positions tended to pay more. That meant that Sanders couldn’t always pursue his passions for sculpting and film.

“I have a good job that allows me to work from home for an overseas company, but this isn’t what I ever saw myself doing as a career,” Sanders Fabares said. “I have never once benefited once from what I learned at AI-SD.”

EDMC released a statement in response to ThinkProgress’ inquiries about some of the issues former students mentioned:

It is disappointing to us when a student has a bad experience at our school. We go to great lengths to help students understand what they are signing up for when they attend our schools, including costs of education.

Our financial aid team works extensively with each student from application to graduation and beyond regarding the financial aid process and individual financial aid plans. We do everything we can to help students understand loan obligations and commitments including IGrads, a financial aid literacy resource, and a Student Consumer Information website.

Like all accredited colleges, we have no control over which schools will accept our credits.

With respect to the quality and outcomes of programs at Art Institutes schools, our industry-experienced faculty have worked with many organizations both national and local, bringing that experience and industry knowledge into the classroom. Our faculty is committed to teaching industry-relevant trends and technologies, equipping our students with the skills they need to succeed in the creative industries of the future.

Our curriculums are evaluated to ensure the competencies taught are industry relevant and we also have a program advisory committee of industry professionals that review the curriculum.

We are committed to helping our students find jobs from day one. Our campuses have internship programs and co‐op partnerships with local companies to help students grow their portfolio and gain valuable work experience while still in school.

We have a Career Services team that helps students navigate the job market both before and after graduation, by offering leads on job prospects, coaching students on crafting resumes and preparing them for interviews with employers. We also provide numerous opportunities and events for students to showcase their work, including Portfolio Shows where graduating students present their work to potential employers.

We are dedicated to providing the opportunity for an education that … were it not for schools like ours … many of our students might never achieve. We truly help build careers.

The Fabares couple moved several times, to different areas of California, until they could both find work. “We ping-ponged all over the state, so wherever there was a job for her, we went there, because that was the higher paying job and we didn’t have savings to fall back on,” Sanders Fabares said.

He said their struggles finding work after AI have tested their relationship, but ultimately, it was a comfort to know they were both in the same boat and would face those challenges together. Before Corinthian Colleges made headlines for their inaccurate job placement rates, they didn’t know other students at different for-profit colleges faced the same problems.

“It definitely put a strain on our relationship, but at the same time, knowing another person went through the same experience made it somewhat easier. We knew we were together on that,” Sanders Fabares said. “Over the last few months we have been amazed and outraged at how similar other student’s stories are to our own.”

  • Since this piece was first published, the 2011 U.S. Department of Justice case against EDMC was settled for $95.5 million and EDMC did not admit any wrongdoing. Although major progress has been made in regards to providing student debt forgiveness to former students and graduates of institutions belonging to Corinthian Colleges, the then Secretary of Education Arne Duncan said the case did not find “a misrepresentation to students” that would help students of EDMC colleges with debt forgiveness. However, the case did accuse EDMC of giving students misleading information, such as false job placement rates.

The Art Institute of Houston is a for-profit college in Houston, Texas. It is owned and operated by Dream Center Education Holdings, LLC. Founded in 1965 as the Houston School of Commercial Art, the school joined The Art Institutes system of schools in 1978 and moved to its current facility in 1990.

It is a small institution with an enrollment of 257 undergraduate students. The AI – Austin acceptance rate is 100%. Popular majors include Recording Arts Technician, Game Design and Interactive Media, and Multimedia. Graduating 25% of students, AI – Austin alumni go on to earn a starting salary of $27,300.

The Art Institute of Washington is actively recruiting for a Campus President. The Campus President is responsible for quality, professional education for students and graduates through overall administration and support of student success and academic achievement. Interested candidates will have experience engaging students, faculty and staff to achieve results.

Leave a Comment