Last Updated on November 28, 2022 by Omoyeni Adeniyi
The following article explains what you need to know about Florida residence requirements for college tuition and Miami Dade College residency requirements. To find out what information you require, read this article.
You will also discover related posts on how to establish residency in florida for college & how long to establish residency in florida for college on collegelearners.
Florida Residency Requirements For College
A Florida resident for tuition purposes is defined as an individual who has resided in the state for 12 consecutive months while not enrolled in an institution of higher learning, prior to the beginning of classes, and who has established legal ties in Florida according to Florida Statute 1009.21.
How Long to Establish Residency in Florida for College
To be eligible for in-state tuition, the student or parent must have been a Florida resident, as defined by state law for tuition purposes, for at least 12 consecutive months prior to the first day of the term.
A “Florida resident for tuition purposes” is a person who has, or a dependent person whose parent, legal guardian, or spouse has established and maintained legal residence in Florida for at least twelve months prior to the first day of the term. Please Note: Students, who depend on out-of-state parents for support, are presumed to be legal residents of the same state as their parents.
Residency For Tuition Purposes
Students seeking Florida residency for tuition purposes are required to submit documentation to the college that proves their residency. The first step in deciding what type of documentation is required is to determine if the student is dependent or independent. Dependent students are required to submit the documentation proving the residency of their parent or legal guardian. Independent students are required to submit documentation validating their independent status.
For prospective students new to Florida, it is important to know that you cannot establish Florida residency just by virtue of 12-month enrollment in a college.
1. The documents must include at least one of the following:
a. A Florida voter’s registration card.b. A Florida driver license.c. A State of Florida identification card.d. A Florida vehicle registration.e. Proof of a permanent home in Florida which is occupied as a primary residence by the individual or by the individual’s parent if the individual is a dependent child.f. Proof of a homestead exemption in Florida.g. Transcripts from a Florida high school for multiple years if the Florida high school diploma or high school equivalency diploma was earned within the last 12 months.h. Proof of permanent full-time employment in Florida for at least 30 hours per week for a 12-month period.
2. The documents may include one or more of the following:a. A declaration of domicile in Florida.b. A Florida professional or occupational license.c. Florida incorporation.d. A document evidencing family ties in Florida.e. Proof of membership in a Florida-based charitable or professional organization.f. Any other documentation that supports the student’s request for resident status, including, but not limited to, utility bills and proof of 12 consecutive months of payments; a lease agreement and proof of 12 consecutive months of payments; or an official state, federal, or court document evidencing legal ties to Florida.
RESIDENCY FOR IN-STATE TUITION
Know the rules for residency to lower your tuition.
Eligibility for In-State Tuition
To be eligible for in-state tuition, you or your parents must have been a Florida resident, as defined by state law for tuition purposes, for at least 12 consecutive months prior to the first day of the term.
Dependent and Independent Students
If you qualify as a dependent on a parent’s federal income taxes, you are considered a dependent student and one of your parents must provide proof of their residency.
If you are 24-years-old or older, you are considered an independent student and you – not your parents – must provide proof of your residency. If you are under 24-years-old and married, active military personnel, a veteran, orphan, previously a ward of the state, in foster care, or provide more than 50% of your own financial support, you may also be considered an independent student.
The Guidelines on Florida Residency for Tuition Purposes (PDF) provides additional information about the laws and rules for in-state tuition.
To prove residency for tuition purposes, you will need to present at least two pieces of documentation with dates that prove you or your parents were a Florida resident for at least 365 days before the first day of class. Colleges and universities may require additional documentation, especially if there appears to be some inconsistency between the documentation and the admissions application.
Documentation must include at least one item from the list below. If you are a dependent student, the document must be in the name of one of your parents. If you are an independent student, the document must be in your name.
- Florida driver’s license
- Florida vehicle registration
- State of Florida identification card
- Florida voter’s registration card
- Proof of a permanent home in Florida which is a primary resident of the student or student’s parents if the student is a dependent.
- Proof of homestead exemption in Florida.
- Transcripts from Florida high school for two or more years if a diploma was earned within the last 12 months.
- Proof of permanent full-time employment in Florida (30 hours a week for 12 consecutive months).
If you only have one document from the list above, you may use one or more of the additional documents listed below:
- Declaration of domicile in Florida
- Florida professional or occupational license.
- Florida incorporation.
- Evidence of verifiable family ties to a Florida resident, as defined by tuition purposes.
- Evidence of members in a Florida-based charitable or professional organization.
- Court document demonstrating legal ties to Florida.
- 12 consecutive months of utility or lease payments.