Last Updated on January 24, 2023 by Omoyeni Adeniyi
The florida dental hygiene license requirements are the same as the requirements of the dental hygiene licensure exam. You need to successfully pass an exam, which is administered by the American dental association (ADA). The ADA will then give you the right to practice in Florida. If you have foreign dental hygienist license, here are some basic things that you should know before you can have your license transferred to Florida dental hygienist license, licensure examination requirement and how long does it take for you to finish your application.
Get more information on dental hygienist in florida salary, dental hygienist salary, adex dental hygiene licensing examination administered in florida, dental hygienist course for overseas dentist, limited dental license for foreign trained dentists, can a foreign trained dentist work as a dental hygienist in Texas & florida dental hygiene license requirements
How to Become Eligible to Practice Dentistry in the US
An applicant who has earned a dental degree from a program located outside of the United States may qualify for dental hygienist license provided the applicant has: The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (formerly NERB).
Right here on Collegelearners, you can rest assured to obtain all the relevant information you need on dental hygienist program for foreign dentist, ADEX dental hygiene licensing examination, Florida Dental license requirements, Florida board of dentistry laws and rules, Florida dental hygiene laws and rules exam study guide, dental hygienist in Florida salary, amongst others. Be sure to visit our catalogue for more information on similar topics.
A dental license gives you the legal right to practice independently as a general dentist in the state you are applying to obtain a license in. Though requirements vary from state to state, all applicants for dental licensure must meet three basic requirements:
- An education requirement
- A written examination requirement
- A clinical examination requirement
florida dental hygiene license requirements
The State of Florida does not have reciprocity with any state and does not issue licenses by endorsement or credentials. The requirements for licensure by examination are listed below and can be found in Section 466.007, Florida Statutes.:
1. Is at least 18 years of age
2. Has graduated from:
- a dental hygiene college or school approved by the board
or accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the
American Dental Association or its successor agency, if any,
or any other dental hygiene program accrediting entity
recognized by the United States Department of Education;
- is a graduate of an unaccredited dental college or school,
and has completed a minimum of 4 years of postsecondary
dental education and received a dental school diploma which
is comparable to a D.D.S. or D.M.D.
3. Successful completion of the following examinations:
- Dental Hygiene National Board Examination
(Graduates of non-accredited dental schools have the option of completing the National Board Dental Examination or the Dental Hygiene National Board Examination)
- ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination administered in Florida or in another jurisdiction other than Florida. ADEX scores are valid if taken on or after June 1, 2010
- Florida Laws and Rules Examination
Florida Laws and Rules Examination Applicants are required to submit the following documents for licensure:
- National Board Dental Hygiene Examination scores mailed to the Board office directly from the American Dental Association
- Final official transcripts sent to the Board office by the registrar’s office with appropriate stamps, seals, degree and signatures. All final transcripts must indicate the matriculation date, graduation date, degree earned, and be embossed with the school seal. We will not accept any transcript that has “issued to student” stamped on the transcript. Any transcript, which does not conform to these standards, shall be deemed unofficial and unacceptable.
- If applicable, a certification of licensure from each state in which applicant currently holds or has held a dental or dental hygiene license. The certification should state that your license is in good standing; appropriate signatures and embossed seal of the certifying Board are needed for validation.
- Current proof of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one – rescuer and two rescuer CPR for adults, children, and infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED) and the use of ambu-bags. All such training shall be sufficient for and shall result in current certification or recertification by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements.
Foreign Trained Dentist Become Dental Hygienist In Florida
adex dental hygiene licensing examination
The ADEX Dental Hygiene Examination is based on specific performance criteria used to measure clinical competence. There are two skill-specific clinical and simulated clinical examinations:
– The Patient Treatment Clinical Examination (PTCE) – evaluates candidates on their clinical and judgment skills. Clinical skills include detection and removal of calculus, accurate periodontal pocket depth measurements, tissue management, and final case presentation. Judgment skills include presenting an eligible patient, diagnostic-quality radiographs that meet all examination criteria, and an acceptable case selection of teeth that meets all calculus requirements. The non-patient version of this examination is called the Manikin Treatment Clinical Examination (MTCE).
– The Computer Simulated Clinical Examination (CSCE) OSCE – is designed to assess various levels of diagnosis and treatment planning knowledge, skills, and abilities. Clinically-based questions are utilized through computer-enhanced photographs, radiographs, optical images of study and working models, laboratory data, and other clinical digitized reproductions.
For more extensive information please download the Candidate Manual.
|Examination Fees: Dental Hygiene (ADEX)|
|Full Exam (Patient-Based, & Computer-Based)||$995|
|PTCE (Partial or Retake)||$545|
|CSCE OSCE (Partial)||$450|
|CSCE OSCE (Retake)||$275|
|Additional Services & Fees:|
|Facility Fee (varies by exam site)||Refer to Facility Fee & Information Sheet|
|Late Registration Fee (non-refundable)||$250 (PTCE only)|
|Exam Deferral (non-refundable)||$100|
|Refund (post deadline)||$100|
|Score Report||$35 (Per Address)|
how to become a dental hygienist in florida
According to the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity, there were 10,669 licensed dental hygienists working in the state as of 2013. By 2022, the number of hygienists in Florida is expected to increase 27.1 percent to 13,559. This represents an estimated 4,552 job openings between 2013 and 2022.
Complete the following steps to become a licensed dental hygienist in Florida:
Step 1. Graduate from a CODA-Accredited Dental Hygiene Program
To qualify to become a licensed dental hygienist in Florida, you must be at least 18 years old, and you must graduate from a dental hygiene program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) of the American Dental Association (ADA).
CODA-accredited programs in dental hygiene are offered at both the associate and bachelor level, and are available through community colleges, traditional universities and colleges, dental schools, as well as through online institutions.
There are currently 20 CODA-accredited dental hygiene programs in Florida.
Either an Associate of Science or Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene will satisfy the requirements for examination and licensure in Florida.
Step 2. Pass the Dental Hygiene National Board Examination
A CODA-accredited dental hygiene program will prepare you to take the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) through the American Dental Association (ADA) Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations (JCNDE).
The NBDHE is designed to assess your knowledge of dental hygiene, dental hygiene sciences, and biomedical sciences.
This written exam consists of two components and a total of 350 questions. It is administered through Pearson VUE testing centers located throughout the United States, including those located in Orlando, Tampa, Port Charlotte, St. Petersburg, Gainesville, Miami, and Tallahassee, among many other cities in Florida.
You must successfully complete this written exam in order to submit an application for the ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination.
Step 3. Pass the ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensing Examination
The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA), formerly the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners (NERB), administers the American Board for Dental Examiners (ADEX) Dental Hygiene Examination.
This two-part exam consists of:
- The Computer Simulated Clinical Examination (CSCE). The CSCE is about two hours in duration and is completed at your local Prometric Testing Center.
- Patient Treatment Clinical Examination (PTCE). The PTCE is about four hours in duration and is completed at a clinical examination site.
Information on applying and preparing for both the CSCE and PTCE through the CDCA can be found here.
Effective April 1, 2015, the CDCA also administers the Florida Laws and Rules Examination, which must also be completed successfully in order to qualify for dental hygiene licensure in Florida.
Step 4. Submit a License Application and Required Documents
Once you have successfully passed the National Board Examination, the ADEX clinical (practical) examination, and the Florida Laws and Rules Examination, the final step to achieving licensure is to provide the Florida Board of Dentistry with a completed Dental Hygiene Licensing Application along with the required documents (you may also apply online):
- NBDHE scores mailed directly from the ADA to the Florida Board of Dentistry
- CDCA will provide the Board with scores for the ADEX and Florida Laws and Rules Exam
- Official sealed transcripts mailed directly from your school’s registrar’s office (must include the degree you earned, your matriculation date, your date of graduation, and must bear your school’s seal)
- A certificate for the completion of a course in the prevention of medical errors (you can find providers and courses here.)
- Proof of training in CPR at the basic support level including use of AED and ambu-bags
All documents are to be sent to:
The Department of Health
Board of Dentistry
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN #C-O8
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3258
Step 5. Apply for Certification in the Administration of Local Anesthesia
One you have been licensed, you may achieve certification in the administration of local anesthesia, provided you complete a course that is accredited by CODA or approved by the Florida Board of Dentistry.
The course must include at least 30 hours of didactic instruction and at least 30 hours of clinical experience and instruction in:
- Infection control
- Medical emergencies involving local anesthesia
- Pharmacology of vasoconstrictors
- Psychological aspects of paint control
- Selection of pain control modalities
- Systematic complications
- Techniques of mandibular anesthesia
- Pharmacology of local anesthetics
- Techniques of maxillary anesthesia
- Theory of pain control
Submit an Application for Dental Hygiene Certification – Administration of Local Anesthesia and pay the certification fee of $35 (made payable to the Florida Department of Health).
You must provide the Board with evidence of current certification in basic or advanced cardiac life support when submitting the application.
Step 6. Maintain Your Dental Hygiene License
All initial dental hygiene licenses expire on February 28 of the first even-numbered year following licensure. From then on, licensure biennium dates are March 1 – February 28 of even-numbered years.
All license renewals can be completed online. You can expect to receive a renewal notification from the Florida Department of Health about 90 days before your license expires. The cost of renewal is $105.
To renew your license, you must successfully complete 24 continuing education hours that adhere to the following requirements:
- 22 general continuing education hours
- 2 hours in medical error training
- 2 hours in domestic violence (must be completed every third biennium)
- Must have current CPR certification
- 2 hours of HIV/AIDS training (only if you are newly licensed and renewing your license for the first time)