|

Pennsylvania College Of Health Sciences Reviews

Last Updated on August 12, 2023 by Oluwajuwon Alvina

Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences Reviews

Rating 3.64 out of 5 182 reviews

  • Rating 5 out of 5 Excellent40  reviews (22%)
  • Rating 4 out of 5 Very Good63  reviews (35%)
  • Rating 3 out of 5 Average62  reviews (34%)
  • Rating 2 out of 5 Poor8  reviews (4%)
  • Rating 1 out of 5 Terrible9  reviews (5%)

All CategoriesAll CategoriesAcademicsCampusFoodHealth & SafetyHousingOnline LearningOverall ExperienceParty SceneStudent LifeValueRating 5 out of 5 Very competitive school. It was hard to enter the 3 year BSN program because you have to meet strict requirements, however you could be eligible for the 4 year BSN or the 2 year ASN. I would go more lax on the 3 year requirements as students will weed themselves out as the classes roll on.

  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 My overall experience at this college has been amazing. Not only do I enjoy learning from the instructors, I enjoy interacting with the other students that attend there as well. This school challenges you and wants you to succeed and be able to pass your boards when you are finished. I would say that I am more prepared to venture off in my profession than I was when I was in my first semester. I love the study areas as well as the food areas. I love that there are tutors there also that are willing to help you whenever you are having difficulty in a certain subject. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone who is willing to further their education and career in nursing. I would say that this school has taught me all the skills that I would need to utilize once I am all my own. I’m sure that I will still be learning once I am out in the field because you are always learning in nursing. I can not wait to become a Registered Nurse and I owe it all to amazing school!

  • Senior
  • 5 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 I adapted to online learning during the pandemic and I actually find it easier to learn and go at my own pace. The instructors have been very helpful whenever you have a question about something. They want you to succeed and will always be available if you need assistance. The online environment was a little scary at first, but I have adjusted and would prefer it more over the classroom. This school is always willing to help whenever you are stuck on the muddy topics. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone who is interested in the medical field. I have learned a lot to help me in my nursing career. I plan on furthering my education because I enjoy learning all there is to know about nursing. This school has challenged me and made me become a better nurse and I can not wait to utilize all that I have learned. The experience at this school was amazing and I would not recommend any other school. I love interacting in the hospital setting.

  • Senior
  • 5 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportStart Your Review of Pennsylvania College of Health SciencesRate It!Rating 2 out of 5 I am in the 3 year BSN program. Professors are unorganized and exams are completely unfair. Lectures contradict the exams so you never know what is really right and wrong. Student voices are never heard. I really wanted to love this school but if I wasn’t already this far into it, I would transfer.

  • Sophomore
  • 8 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 2 out of 5 Online experience has been terrible. Poor communication between staff and students deal with the consequences of that. We are given so much busy work that I dont actually learn anything unless I teach myself.

  • Sophomore
  • 8 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 1 out of 5 Easily one of the worst schools for students. Leaves students with the brunt of the work and does not offer any type of help with difficulties. Had our bill mysteriously raised overnight during the spring semester. I would never let anyone I know or hate attend this awful school.

  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 1 out of 5 Charged us standard fees even while we are fully online. Another trash school and this just for profit and the admin are literally scum.

  • Niche User
  • 8 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 1 out of 5 I wanted to have a great experience with this school but ended up with quite the opposite. Terrible staff communication. I have emailed multiple staff members about multiple different things, and either never heard back or had to email multiple times to even hear something back. They charge so much money for ridiculous things and then don’t even have a great curriculum. They are not at all willing to work with students when it comes to the transition of in-person to online classes, and are not at all understanding that some people can’t have top tier electronics to do school work. Course load is insane, and not at all understanding about the fact that people have lives outside of classes that they need to deal with. Overall just a terrible experience with this school. Spent $9000 for one semester, and barely got anything out of it. Don’t recommend this school at all, I already transferred elsewhere after one semester

  • Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 1 out of 5 If I could give zero stars I would. Not only did they raise tuition during a PANDEMIC, but financial aid is by far the least helpful department in the school. They refuse to assist you and ignore you for months. Advising is a joke, they can’t help you with anything. Whatever you learn in class is the complete opposite of what they do in clinicals. They basically set you up to fail. For such an expensive college you’d think their courses would be better than they are. I recommend going to your community college and saving money, I’m sure you’d get a better education elsewhere. Again, their financial aid department is a joke. The worst run department by far, you receive better customer service from fast food chains. DO NOT GO HERE. RUN FOR THE HILLS.

  • Junior
  • 12 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 1 out of 5 The worst, professors did not handle the online experience well at all. You are basically paying thousands of dollars to teach yourself.

  • Junior
  • 12 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 5 out of 5 I have never felt more motivated and supported at an institution before! Everyone is pretty amazing here!

  • Junior
  • May 21 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 I love the flexibility of the online classes. They offer 5,10, and 15 week courses, which help me complete my education around my busy work schedule

  • Junior
  • May 21 2020
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 5 out of 5 The 3 year BSN is phenomenal. Well organized, amazing professors, and so many opportunities. This school as a whole cares about their students. They work hard to accommodate all types of students and meet the needs of each individual. The campus is beautiful. The clinical setting on campus is state of the art. The best part is on acceptance all students are guaranteed clinical placement!! If you’re interested in health sciences especially nursing, this is the place to be. I am able to work while pursing an accelerated degree, get it paid for, and do well. Love, love, love PA College of Health Sciences.

  • Junior
  • Mar 11 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 1 out of 5 Waste of time and money. Students fail more than pass and instructors are horrible. I would advise anyone thinking of going to this college to absolutely NOT! Save your money, time, and emotions. Graduated with my RN and didn’t even receive a graduation. What a disappointment.

  • Graduate Student
  • Feb 5 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 1 out of 5 Want to be severely depressed, lied to and lose all your confidence??? LOOK NO FURTHER!!!! Had a great college experience up until third semester of the ASN 2+2 program. First and second semester were great. The instructors were awesome. All were informative willing to help in every aspect along with challenging students. Clinical was great with numerous hands on oppurtunites. I took the third semester course twice. The first time I felt defeated and was told that this is the hardest semester and that I should try again. Throughout the course of the semester we were given 5 different instructors all with different learning styles and teaching styles.

Part 1

  • Niche User
  • Jan 19 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 2 out of 5 The ASN program needs a lot of work. I’d suggest students enroll into the 3 year or 4 year BSN program as it is structured differently. The ASN program is accelerated and majority of the students fail. These students who are failing are passionate dedicated students which is heart breaking to see that their knowledge excels out on the clinical floor, case studies, and their ability to connect the dots when questioned from instructors but exam averages drop them tremendously. The ASN program does not provide a pharmacology course but the BSN does. This is essential knowledge as part of the curriculum and as a nurse, regardless if the program is accelerated, there should be an in-depth pharmacology course or section. I’d say only attend this school if you’re employed by the Lancaster General Health system and make sure you pass. Otherwise, go to a community college and transfer to a different college that is not this school.

  • Alum
  • Jan 8 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 First I like that building is secure. They have lots of resources and tutors. Also, they have a gym for exercise. The teachers are well educated on the topic being discussed. You get your money worth out of the amount of educated being taught in such a short time period. Overall, I love my experience with Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences.

  • Freshman
  • Oct 4 2019
  • Overall Experience

ReportStart Your Review of Pennsylvania College of Health SciencesRate It!Rating 1 out of 5 The 2+2 ASN to BSN program is terrible. This school use to have a great reputation back when it was known as Lancaster General School of Nursing. Now, this program is a joke. The program is not concept based until 3rd semester. Therefore, if you were to fail out of the program, it is less likely another school will accept/transfer the nursing courses.

The program is unorganized and needs reviewing! It is just horrible to know that almost half if not all of the 3rd semesters students almost failed two semesters in a row (2 different cohorts). The first semester around points were given back to boost students up, the second time around with the next cohort, they did not do the same given that they did not change much of their mistakes from the first cohort.

Go for the 3 year BSN or other programs this school offers but not the ASN program. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO TO A COMMUNITY COLLEGE OR SOMEWHERE ELSE.

  • Niche User
  • Sept 10 2019
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 I just began my first semester here at the college and I have been blown away with the maturity and focus on education that these professors have. Having attended other colleges previously, my experience at those are nothing compared to what I have experienced in my first few weeks of classes.

  • Freshman
  • Sept 10 2019
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 4 out of 5 I like pa college because it’s convenient for me, the instructors are good and their college is well organized.

  • Sophomore
  • Aug 14 2019
  • Overall Experience

Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences Reviews

  •  3 Reviews
  •  Lancaster (PA)
  • Annual Tuition: $29,320

 100% of 3 students said this degree improved their career prospects

 33% of 3 students said they would recommend this school to others


STUDENT & GRADUATE REVIEWS

Jay

  • Reviewed: 4/5/2019
  • Degree: Nursing

“The class before me had a passing rate of 74% now they have raised it to a 77% and are trying to continue to raise it. My first 2 semesters in the nursing program were great. The teachers were great, the way they taught and they really helped you prepare for the exams before taking them. The 77% is somewhat attainable but it is very hard. Not sure as to why they had to raise it from a 74% to a 77% was most likely one of the worse things that they did for the nursing program. Also there is no reason as to why students are getting kicked out the nursing program if failing 2 classes. They are still collecting money so why would we have to be kicked out. 3rd semester in the nursing program is by far the worse program in the semester not just because the concepts are hard but the teachers are no better and the way they teach and talk to students is unacceptable. Many teachers talk down to you, make you feel stupid for not understanding the information right away and barley offer help. They want you to come with questions and guide the study review when you are telling them you need help understanding the whole topic. Then they try to talk to you and test you like you have 40 years of experience then get mad when the whole class is failing the semester and blame it on the students. If more than half of the semester is failing its sad to say but I believe there is an issue with the teachers and the way they are teaching not with the students. Something needs to be done with the 3rd semester program and the teachers. The deans need to get involved and monitor how it is going because it is ridiculous. Would not recommend this school or program to anyone. Haccs nursing program is way better and they actually have tutoring sessions and the teachers sit and try to help more.”Kendra French

  • Reviewed: 6/24/2018
  • Degree: Nursing

“I attended Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences and received my Master of Science in Nursing in the Education track in 2017. I was a part of the inaugural class in the MSN program. The program received it’s AACN accreditation just after I graduated. The program was in its infancy and it had to maintain some fluidity which meant that it experienced some adjustments along the way. The faculty and administration was very open to feedback from the students and embraced the adult learning model. I felt that it had some difficulty with use of technology for some of the classes. For instance, the Advanced Physical Assessment course utilized simulation videos to provide assessment “experience” and there was no opportunity to practice hands-on with an instructor and also no requirement to submit video recording or webcam observed assessments. Additionally, the teaching courses did not require video recorded sessions of didactic instruction. They did, however require voiced-over PowerPoint, Prezi and other electronic presentations to be made, for which there is definitely a need in today’s educational world. Any online degree has its challenges and the college handled its use of adjunct faculty well, although there was a wide range in how connected the faculty was with the students. Some understood the need to compensate for lack of physical interaction by using alternative means to connect with students, while others seemed less connected. I felt that in some ways I was well-prepared as a nurse educator, such as understanding learning styles and how to adapt educational methods, how to work within current frameworks, and writing a curriculum. In other areas, such as practice in classroom teaching, I felt like I was short-changed. Overall, I give the program a mixed-review for its inaugural class.”Mallorie

  • Reviewed: 2/8/2017
  • Degree: Healthcare Administration

“I loved this program until I reached my third year. T.H. is the worst professor I have ever come in contact with. I took her to the dean, for her horrible grading & lack of teaching, they only stick up for professors Not students. I decided to leave this program that I enjoyed greatly because I want to go to a college where my advisor actually points me in the right direction. They would not give me a new advisor, would not help me, just showed me how awful the professors could truly be. I am someone who loves online classes, I do not like much interaction with my teachers, but due to her awful grading and crappy teaching I had to go in person to the school many times and sent countless emails that went ignored. I am not sure how the teachers are for the other majors but for this one Horning is the absolute worst teacher in the whole school. My financial aid process went fine, I would still recommend this school just be weary that when you start taking classes with her, be prepared to fail and never speak your mind or they will start sending out grammar and ethical violations.”

Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences

850 Greenfield Road

LANCASTER PA ,  17601

4 ratingsUnigo Top Student Rated SchoolGrab this badge

ABOUT PENNSYLVANIA COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCES

Founded in N/A, Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences is a 4-year college. Located in Lancaster, which is a city setting in Pennsylvania, the campus itself is Suburban . The campus is home to 1,507 full time undergraduate students, and 93 full time graduate students.

CAMPUS TOPICS

How politically active are students?Are there intellectual conversations?Is the arts culture a priority?Do you feel safe on campus?What’s the sports culture like?100%“We don’t play sports”0%“We play recreationally”0%“We bought the gear”0%“We live for the big game”How accessible are your professors?How important is fraternity/sorority life?Do students drink alcohol?Do students do drugs?0%“Never, we’re here to learn”100%“There might be people who do”0%“People are known to partake on weekends”0%“There’s a huge drug scene”

ADMISSIONS REQUIREMENTS FOR PENNSYLVANIA COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCES

Admissions at LGCNHS are considered Selective, with 57% of all applicants being admitted. In the 2017/2018 school year, of the students who applied to the school, only 31% of those who were admitted eventually ended up enrolling. N/A of incoming freshmen are in the top half of their high school class. N/A were in the top quarter, and N/A were in the top tenth.

The application fee is $ 35 and you can apply online.

SAT RANGE: N/A

Reading & WritingN/A
MathN/A

SAT Community Homepage

ACT RANGE: N/A

EnglishN/A
MathN/A

ACT Community Homepage

STUDENT BODY

STUDENTS

85%

FEMALE

15%

MALE1,507

TOTAL UNDERGRAD ENROLLMENT93

TOTAL GRAD STUDENTS3%

OUT-OF-STATE97%

IN-STATEN/A

INTERNATIONAL

ORGANIZATIONS

N/A

STUDENT ORGANIZATIONSN/A

FRATERNITIESN/A

SORORITIES

HOUSING

No

ON-CAMPUS HOUSINGN/A

OF STUDENTS LIVING ON CAMPUS

STUDENT DIVERSITY

% AMERICAN INDIAN/ALASKAN NATIVEN/A% ASIAN/PACIFIC ISLANDER2%% BLACK OR AFRICAN-AMERICAN6%% HISPANIC/LATINO7%% WHITE OR CAUCASIAN79%

ACADEMICS

The Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences Academic calendar runs on a semester basis. In the 2017/2018 school year the student to faculty ratio was 12:1. There are 67 full time instructional teachers. Degrees awarded at Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences include: Bachelor’s Degree, Masters Degree, Post-master’s certificate, Doctor’s degree.

COST

The total cost to attend on campus is $38,307. Let’s break that cost down. Room and board will run $10,300 annually. Books and Supplies will cost another $2,497. And lastly, in state tuition and fees is $25,510. Additional cost elements for out of state students are as follows:

COST OUT OF STATE

$25,510

TUITION AND FEES(OUT OF STATE)$2,497

BOOKS AND SUPPLIES$10,300

ROOM AND BOARD38,307

TOTAL ON CAMPUS

ACTUAL COST BY INCOME LEVEL(W/FINANCIAL AID)

FAMILY INCOMECost$0 – $30K$31,660$30 – $48K$32,616$48 – $75K$28,980$75 – $110K$35,655$110K & UP$36,662

FINANCIAL AID

All students must apply yearly for financial aid. This process starts with the FAFSA. Though financial aid deadlines vary by school, it is a good idea to apply as soon as possible. For the upcoming school year, you can apply as early as October 1 for the FAFSA. Additional school aid will be dependent on the FAFSA results.

85% of students attending Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences receive some sort of financial aid. 26% were awarded federal grants. While 66% received federal loans. Many students do also need to apply for additional private student loans.

Similar Posts