Montserrat College Of Art Reviews

Last Updated on September 8, 2022 by Alvina Ibe

Montserrat College of Art Reviews

Rating 3.52 out of 5 143 reviews

  • Rating 5 out of 5 Excellent32  reviews (22%)
  • Rating 4 out of 5 Very Good43  reviews (30%)
  • Rating 3 out of 5 Average45  reviews (31%)
  • Rating 2 out of 5 Poor13  reviews (9%)
  • Rating 1 out of 5 Terrible10  reviews (7%)

This is a horrible ‘college’, and not even a few amazing professors can make up for the damage they do. The head of financial aid was ripping students off for ‘art kits’, while ripping off our parents/families for additional loans we didn’t actually need for things that should have been covered. The animation classes were pointless, and I learned more at home in my own time than I ever did there. It doesn’t help that those classes were taught by a narcissist who treated anyone who had any skill like she owned them. The few good professors were plagued by problem students and weren’t allowed to do much about them. This made classes that should have been excellent were marred by disturbances constantly. (Turpentine in water bottles. Every. Single. Day.) When I had a medical emergency that turned into a full-blown chronic illness and disability, they wouldn’t accommodate me at all. They wouldn’t even let me take a single semester off for medical leave. It’s just not worth it, trust me.

  • Alum
  • 4 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 This was my first year attending Montserrat and honestly I think it was an amazing experience. From the staff to students on campus to dorms to the city of Beverly itself, it was all an amazing first experience and I can’t wait to continue my education at Montserrat.

  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 2 out of 5 Im not much of an online learner so it was difficult to get motivated to do the online assignments. It also seems ridiculous to pay full price for online classes when youre not receiving the same level of one on one education.

  • Freshman
  • 6 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportStart Your Review of Montserrat College of ArtRate It!Rating 2 out of 5 I came to this school with high hopes but overall I feel pretty let down. I know this year hasn’t been a normal college experience for anyone, but that being said I felt like my education here was lacking. Many teachers I had pushed for abstracted work, or gave assignments that didn’t really feel meaningful. Most of my work was turned in for a grade and many projects I didnt feel very attached to. They also assume everyone is at the same level right in the beginning, so I was required to take many classes that taught me things I had already learned in my many high school art classes. Its overpriced for the education you get and the housing. The dorms in the student village were not well cared for, not only was there mold in the bathroom, but also mushrooms growing out of the floor. It was overall a very disappointing experience.

  • Freshman
  • 6 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 3 out of 5 I never went to Montserrat during Covid. But I did take 2 online classes and they were ok. Personally I thought that the class assignments (not homework) took took much time.

  • Alum
  • 10 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 2 out of 5 I deeply regretted going to this school. Career services barely helped me and most of the time they don’t respond whenever I tried to email them or call them. I learned more things just by watching YouTube videos at home than any of the time I spent at my college. Campuses are in awful conditions. Depending on which dorm you live in, you might find mice, a hole in your bathroom door, very dirty lounge room (in the student village), etc. Most restaurants nearby are expensive, no student discounts. The community among students are mostly extreme leftists. Overall I thought it was a toxic community. I’ve seen students bad mouthing about one of our classmates one time because basically they were jealous that she might have more money than them. Only reason I give this two stars is because a lot (not all) of the professors/ faculty are nice, caring and they do genuinely care about the students and our future.

  • Alum
  • 10 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 1 out of 5 They were still trying to transition but I know that I’m not the only one who felt we lost money when we did online versions of our classes

  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 2 out of 5 It was very unorganized and I feel as though they need better leadership or direction. But the professors for the most part are amazing.

  • Niche User
  • 11 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 4 out of 5 The first transition from in-person to remote was a bit rough, but Montserrat was able to successfully go online. The teachers were very understanding and accommodating, since going online stripped the students of the resources we needed to create art at school. If a student was struggling with an assignment or a class, most teachers were more than happy to help them without judgment. As it’s hard to do studio classes online, Monsterrat tried to make sure there were more in-person options this semester, which made doing school this time easier.

  • Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 4 out of 5 I really love how Montserrat gives you a lot of choices for classes and opportunities to explore new areas of art. The classes are quite hands-on, but balanced in a way where you are learning lots of new skills at a pace that isn’t too overwhelming. They also give you great opportunities to make connections, such as inviting guest speakers to the school. The small community the school has built makes the experience easier to handle, as I got a better chance to make friends and feel comfortable where I was. For the most part, the school tries to make sure all of the students are comfortable, but sometimes they aren’t the best with communication or properly addressing a problem a student may have.

  • Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 I have yet to start at this school, but I already feel that this is the school that I am meant to go to.

  • Freshman
  • Aug 1 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 My son is very comfortable with his classes & tells me that his teachers are very knowledgeable, providing enough support so he can continue learning, improving his artistic talents, & maintaining his relationships with teachers & classmates in the community.

  • Freshman
  • May 22 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 4 out of 5 The dorms were closed during Spring 2020 due to the Worldwide Coronavirus Pandemic, so my Spring Semester of Freshman Year 2019-2020 was finished online while living at home with my family.

  • Freshman
  • May 22 2020
  • Online Learning

ReportRating 1 out of 5 Where to even begin? The absolute lies they told me were the biggest problem. They said they would help find internships, they didn’t. I had an internship with a horrible game company that wanted me to work 100+ hours a week for no pay. They said they would help us find jobs after college, I have never heard from career services. The animation department is a joke, most of the classes were taught through YouTube tutorials (which are free, I didn’t pay $120k to watch YouTube). When I had to have massive surgery they said they would be understanding and were actually horrible to me and did not help me accommodate my disabilities. I will never recommend, overpriced charlatans, if I could sue for my money back I would.

  • Alum
  • Apr 24 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 I am soon to be a junior at Montserrat. So far my experience has been quite good. Foundation year is pretty heavy on projects and working as a team with your classmates but towards the end of the year it becomes natural. I think this helps a lot for when you progress with each year as the work is easier to manage despite taking challenging courses.
The school is small which means you get to know people quite well and fairly quickly. After two years I seem to know everyone, even people I have never had an interaction with. It creates that sense of a tight-knit community which other schools don’t seem to have. Most people are in-the-know about what’s going on around campus.
So far my favorite thing is the classes. I have learned and developed my skills so much since I started here. This is probably because of each professor teaching their own techniques and advising us uniquely with each class, so you take away pieces of their skills and apply them to your own.

  • Sophomore
  • Mar 20 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 1 out of 5 not a good school. I was lucky to get out within my first semester there but many of my friends continue to complain about how they are mistreated. the school is a joke and many it is very obviously going under. if you can avoid going, please do.

  • Freshman
  • Mar 13 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 Montserrat is a small school, so its much more personal and easier to get involved. I’ve been able to get opportunities here that I wouldn’t have at other schools such as a solo show and a studio space as a junior. The school is in downtown Beverly so it’s easy for me to get where I need to be.

  • Junior
  • Jan 17 2020
  • Overall Experience

ReportStart Your Review of Montserrat College of ArtRate It!Rating 5 out of 5 I love the Montserrat Community and the relationships you can make with your peers and the faculty. The fact that Montserrat is a smaller school makes it easier to connect with your professors, benefiting your artistic career and improving your time at college.

  • Senior
  • Sept 23 2019
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 5 out of 5 They are many things that I liked about Montserrat since the first day I step there, one of them is how everyone respects people personalities, they gender and color. Another thing that I liked were my classes that they gave me, the classes are really interesting and practical. Something that surprised me in my orientation was how the college is not just one, it is divided in many buildings! I’m enjoying a lot and hopefully I will like more things about it.

  • Freshman
  • Sept 14 2019
  • Overall Experience

ReportRating 4 out of 5 Montserrat College of Art is a nice school if you’re looking for a small school. And That’s what I was looking for. This school offers a lot of access and a lot of opportunities, and the location is convenient. Right smack in the middle of a pretty town, a few blocks from the beach.

  • Sophomore
  • July 7 2019
  • Overall Experience

Montserrat College of Art

Founded in 1970, Montserrat College of Art is a 4-year college. Located in Beverly, which is a city setting in Massachusetts, the campus itself is Suburban . The campus is home to 377 full time undergraduate students, and N/A full time graduate students.

CAMPUS TOPICS

How politically active are students?Are there intellectual conversations?Is the arts culture a priority?Do you feel safe on campus?What’s the sports culture like?100%“We don’t play sports”0%“We play recreationally”0%“We bought the gear”0%“We live for the big game”How accessible are your professors?How important is fraternity/sorority life?Do students drink alcohol?Do students do drugs?0%“Never, we’re here to learn”67%“There might be people who do”33%“People are known to partake on weekends”0%“There’s a huge drug scene”

ADMISSIONS REQUIREMENTS FOR MONTSERRAT COLLEGE OF ART

Admissions at Montserrat College of Art are considered N/A, with 100% of all applicants being admitted. In the 2017/2018 school year, of the students who applied to the school, only N/A of those who were admitted eventually ended up enrolling. N/A of incoming freshmen are in the top half of their high school class. N/A were in the top quarter, and N/A were in the top tenth.

The application fee is $ 50 and you can apply online.

SAT RANGE: N/A

Reading & WritingN/A
MathN/A

SAT Community Homepage

ACT RANGE: N/A

EnglishN/A
MathN/A

ACT Community Homepage

STUDENT BODY

STUDENTS

74%

FEMALE

26%

MALE377

TOTAL UNDERGRAD ENROLLMENTN/A

TOTAL GRAD STUDENTS52%

OUT-OF-STATE48%

IN-STATEN/A

INTERNATIONAL

ORGANIZATIONS

10

STUDENT ORGANIZATIONSN/A

FRATERNITIESN/A

SORORITIES

HOUSING

Yes

ON-CAMPUS HOUSING70%

OF STUDENTS LIVING ON CAMPUS

STUDENT DIVERSITY

% AMERICAN INDIAN/ALASKAN NATIVEN/A% ASIAN/PACIFIC ISLANDER2%% BLACK OR AFRICAN-AMERICAN3%% HISPANIC/LATINO7%% WHITE OR CAUCASIAN42%

ACADEMICS

The Montserrat College of Art Academic calendar runs on a semester basis. In the 2017/2018 school year the student to faculty ratio was 12:1. There are 16 full time instructional teachers. Degrees awarded at Montserrat College of Art include: Bachelor’s Degree, Masters Degree, Post-master’s certificate, Doctor’s degree.

COST

The total cost to attend on campus is $43,650. Let’s break that cost down. Room and board will run $11,250 annually. Books and Supplies will cost another $1,600. And lastly, in state tuition and fees is $30,800. Additional cost elements for out of state students are as follows:

COST OUT OF STATE

$30,800

TUITION AND FEES(OUT OF STATE)$1,600

BOOKS AND SUPPLIES$11,250

ROOM AND BOARD43,650

TOTAL ON CAMPUS

ACTUAL COST BY INCOME LEVEL(W/FINANCIAL AID)

FAMILY INCOMECost$0 – $30K$22,760$30 – $48K$23,708$48 – $75K$27,675$75 – $110K$30,445$110K & UP$31,115

FINANCIAL AID

All students must apply yearly for financial aid. This process starts with the FAFSA. Though financial aid deadlines vary by school, it is a good idea to apply as soon as possible. For the upcoming school year, you can apply as early as October 1 for the FAFSA. Additional school aid will be dependent on the FAFSA results.

100% of students attending Montserrat College of Art receive some sort of financial aid. 40% were awarded federal grants. While 86% received federal loans. Many students do also need to apply for additional private student loans.